FiWiN5G Summer School on the Vision of 5G Networking - 30th June 2015



Part of the 20th European Conference on Network and Optical Communications.


Tuesday 30th June 2015. 10.30am to 5pm

This one-day workshop presented a vision of the key technologies required for 5G and the major research challenges that being faced. It was held at University College London as part of the 20th European Conference on Network and Optical Communications.


"The Tactile Internet – IoT, 5G and Cloud on Steroids"

Professor Mischa Dohler - King's College London, Head of Centre for Telecommunications Research, Department of Informatics, King’s College London
Mischa Dohler is full Professor in Wireless Communications at King's College London, Head of the Centre for Telecommunications Research, co-founder and member of the Board of Directors of the smart city pioneer Worldsensing, Fellow and Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE, and Editor-in-Chief of the Transactions on Emerging Telecommunications Technologies.

"SEFDM: A promising candidate for 5G systems and beyond"

Dr Ryan Grammenos - University College London, Research Fellow.
Ryan graduated with an Engineering Doctorate from UCL in 2013, where he worked in the Communications and Information Systems Group under the guidance of Professor Izzat Darwazeh. Ryan’s doctorate work focused on the mathematical modelling and hardware realisation of a new modulation technique, termed SEFDM, which provides spectral savings at the expense of receiver complexity. This project involved optimising detection algorithms to yield tangible computational complexity, followed by their implementation on resource-constrained devices, such as FPGAs and DSPs.

"Cloud-RAN, The next big thing in Radio Access?"

Dr John Mitchell - University College London, Vice Dean Education, Senior Lecturer.
John is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, UCL and a member of the Communications and Information Systems Group. He is also Vice Dean (Education) in the UCL Faculty of Engineering Sciences. His research focuses on Radio over fibre technologies and networks for future mobile communications architectures, fixed wireless access platforms and optical beamforming networks.

"Evolution of backhaul technologies for 5G networks"

Dr Muhammad Ali Imran - University of Surrey, Reader in Communications,
Dr Muhammad Ali Imran is a Reader in the Institute for Communication Systems (ICS - formerly known as CCSR) at the University of Surrey, UK. His research interests include energy efficient design of cellular system, learning/self–organising techniques for optimisation of cellular system operation and the IoT network technologies. He is a senior member of IEEE and a Senior Fellow of Higher Education Academy (SFHEA), UK. He is associate editor of IEEE Communications Letters, IET Communications, guest editor of several special issues in IEEE journals and chair for several tracks in highly reputed international conferences and workshops. He has been awarded IEEE Comsoc’s Fred Ellersick award 2014 and FEPS Learning and Teaching award 2014. He is a shortlisted finalist for The Wharton-QS Stars Awards 2014 for innovative teaching and VC’s learning and teaching award in University of Surrey.

Professor Lajos Hanso - University of Southampton, Chair in Telecommunications, head of the Communications Research Area.

Lajos Hanzo has co-authored 20 John Wiley/IEEE Press books totalling about 10 000 pages on mobile radio communications, and published 1200+ research papers and book chapters at IEEE Xplore. He has also organised and chaired major IEEE conferences, such as WCNC'2006, WCNC'2009, VTC'2011, presented Tutorial/overview lectures at international conferences. He presented a number of named lectures and keynotes. Lajos is also an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer of both the Communications Society and the Vehicular Society as well as a Fellow of both the IEEE and the IEE/IET, Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng). He is acting as a Governor of the IEEE VTS as well as of ComSoc. Lajos is the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Press.